Bhadrabahu Vijay


Upadhan means the exalted spiritual endeavors and worship that go with the life of a Shravak. This Upadhan can be performed in three parts for 47 days 35 days and 28 days separately. During these days one must fast on one day and the second day one must do Ekasan, that is eating one meal in one palce. It is called Nivi. Every day one must recite the Rosary for 20 times saying the Navkar Mantra; one must also perform 100 Khamasaman Kneeling with head touching the ground; must also perform Kayotsarga saying the Logassa Sutra for 100 times and must also perform the Paushadh vrat etc. Along with these, one must study some Jain Sutras. This austerity is not only severe but prolonged.


Pratima, a special austerity, must also be performed by a Shravak to purify and perfect his life. In the Shastras, 11 types of Pratima are mentioned.

(1) Samyaktva

(2) Vrat.

(3) Samayik

(4) Paushadh

(5) Niyam

(6) Brahmacharya,

(7) Sachitta Tyag

(8) Uddhisht

(9) Preshyarambha tyag

(10) Arambha tyag

(11) Shramanbhuth

This vow should be taken for one or a fixed number of days according to rules.